Welcome to the RDPG history website! The archived information contained within shows the long history and track record of the RDPG from its earliest years to present times. We invite you to scroll down history lane as you view the newly created RDPG History Timeline (coming soon). Take time to also peruse the archival pages of Past RDPG Chairs, past and recent members recognized for their contribution to the Academy and RDPG (Member Recognition), as well as the list of recipients of past honors and awards (Past Award Recipients). We hope you enjoy the historical journey!

We value your opinion and historical contributions, so please reach out to the RDPG historian if you have comments and historically relevant information to share.

Historical Snapshot

  • The RDPG has grown to over 800 members that includes consultants, professionals, and students in academia, industry, and non-profits
  • The foundation of the RDPG has been comprised of several different practice groups throughout its history, including
    • Nutrition Research
    • Research Dietitians
    • Community Nutrition Research
  • Research Dietitians and Community Nutrition Research groups merged in 1985
  • The current name - Research Dietetic Practice Group (RDPG) - was officially put into place in 1997
  • In 2016, the Academy highlighted the importance of evidence-based nutrition research and getting more nutrition and dietetics professionals involved by designating May as Research Month

Past Research DPG Chairs

  • 2022-2023: Mary N.R. Lesser, PhD, RD
  • 2021-2022: Maria Morgan-Bathke, MBA, PhD, RD, CD
  • 2020-2021:  Barbara J. Goldman, MBA, RDN, LD
  • 2019-2020: Barbara Gordon, MBA, RDN, LD
  • 2018-2019: Ashley Vargas, PhD, MPH, RDN, FAND
  • 2017-2018: Elizabeth (Beth) J. Reverri, PhD, RDN
  • 2016-2017: Lauri O. Byerley, PhD, RDN, LDN
  • 2015-2016: Karin Pennington, MS, RD, LD, FAND
  • 2014-2015: Alanna J. Moshfegh, MS, RD
  • 2013-2014: Nancy J. Emenaker, PhD, MEd, RD
  • 2012-2013: Christopher A. Taylor, PhD, RD, LD
  • 2011-2012: James Swain, PhD, RD, LD
  • 2010-2011: Martha McMurry, MS, LD, RD
  • 2009-2010: Jeanene J. Fogli, PhD, RD, LDN
  • 2008-2009: Stacey L. Mobley, PhD, RD, CNSD
  • 2007-2008: Debra Krummel, PhD, MS, RD
  • 2006-2007: David Holben, PhD, RD, LD
  • 2005-2006: Richard Mattes, PhD, MPH, RD
  • 2004-2005: Deanna Hoelscher, PhD, RD, LD, CNS
  • 2003-2004: Joan G Fischer, PhD, RD
  • 2002-2003: Alana Cline, PhD, RD
  • 2001-2002: Linda Vaughan, PhD, RD, FADA
  • 2000-2001: Melinda Manore, PhD, RD
  • 1999-2000: Nancy M. Lewis, PhD, RD, FADA
  • 1998-1999: Phyllis E. Bowen, PhD, RD
  • 1997-1998: Theresa A. Nicklas, DrPh
  • 1996-1997: Barbara J. Stoecker, PhD, RD
  • 1994-1996: Constance J. Geiger, PhD, RD, CD
  • 1993-1994: Karen S. Kubena, PhD, RD, LD
  • 1992-1993: Bernestine B. McGee, PhD, RD, LDN
  • 1991-1992: Deborah Golden, MS, RD, CNSD
  • 1990-1991: Janis F. Swain, MS, RD
  • 1989-1990: Gail C. Frank, DrPH, MPH, RD
  • 1988-1989: Sonja L. Connor, MS, RD, LD
  • 1987-1988: Elizabeth Randall, PhD, RD
  • 1986-1987: Linda J. Brinkley, RD
  • 1985-1986: Dawn C. Laine, MPH, RD
  • 1983-1984: Michelle Debartolo, RD
  • 1982-1983: Phyllis Stumbo, PhD, RD
  • 1981-1982: Barbara Lipinski, RD

NEW: Timeline of the Research DPG