Current Recipients

Want to See Your Name on This List?

Announcements about the awards processed are sent to members via E-blasts and the EML. All DPG members are encouraged to apply. Before submitting an application, please take a moment to review the requirements for each award.


Congratulations to the Research DPG 2020 Award Winners

On behalf of the Research DPG, the awards sponsors, and the awards committee, we would like to thank everyone who submitted an award application this year. We received an outstanding pool of applications, and the reviewers were impressed by the overall quality of the work submitted. We are pleased to announce the following award winners.

The Sugar Association/Research DPG Grant Award

The awardee of this $10,000 pilot grantis Kristi Crowe-White from the University of Alabama for her project titled, “Epigenetic influences of prenatal dietary nitrate on nutritional programming of brown adipose tissue differentiation and cardiometabolic outcomes in offspring of obese Sprague-dawley rats.”

The Mead Johnson/Research DPG Student Pilot Grant Award

The awardee of this $1,750 pilot grantis Jeffery L. Heileson from Baylor University for his project titled, “The differential effects of eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) on recovery from muscle-damaging exercise.”

The Mead Johnson/RDPG Student Research Award

The following are the three awardees of this $250 award:

  • Katelyn E. Senkus from the University of Alabama for her abstract titled, “Changes in Adiponectin:Leptin Ratio among Obese Older Adults after a 12-month Exercise and Diet Intervention.”
  • Cecelia Andreo from the University of Florida for her abstract titled, “Effective Nutrition Intervention Strategies Aimed to Improve Health Outcomes among American Indian/Alaska Native Youth: A Systematic Review.”
  • Christine Ferguson from the University of Alabama for her abstract titled, “Visceral Adiposity Index and Adherence to the Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH) Diet among Older Adults: Results from National Health and Nutrition Examination Surveys 2011-2014.”

The Research DPG Emerging Researcher Author Award

Jeffery L. Heileson, Baylor University, for his article titled, “The effect of fish oil supplementation on the promotion and preservation of lean body mass, strength, and recovery from physiological stress in young, healthy adults: a systematic review”, which was published in Nutrition Reviews in 2020. Coauthors include LesLee K. Funderburk.

The Research DPG First Author Award

Jennifer Garner, Ohio State University, for the paper “A Qualitative Evaluation of Double Up Food Bucks Farmers’ Market Incentive Program Access,” which was published in Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior in 2020. Coauthors include Casey Coombs, Mateja R. Savoie-Roskos, Carrie Durward, & Rebecca A. Seguin-Fowler.



We would like to extend a special thank you to the Sugar Association and Mead Johnson Nutrition for their generous sponsorship of the awards, and also thank all who conducted the application reviews.

Tracey Ledoux and Gigi Kwok-Hinsley
RPDG Awards Committee Co-Chairs